Outdoors blog


9 Planets of the Solar System – (19 Images)

If you look up and see a wandering star it may actually be a planet.

There are 9 planets in our solar system. Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune and Pluto.

The Sun is at the center with 99.85% of the mass and is very bright. It is not as big as other stars like Betelgeuse. All the planets combined are about 0.14% of the mass of the solar system. Comets are about .02%.

The night sky is full of stars, nebula, and galaxies.

These pictures of solar system show relative size of sun and planets:


Planets: Diameter and distance from Sun:
Mercury      4,879 km      57,909,227 km
Venus         12,104 km       108,209,475 km
Earth         12,742 km        149,598,262 km
Mars          6,779 km           227,943,824 km
Jupiter       139,822 km    778,340,821 km
Saturn       116,464 km       1,426,666,422 km
Uranus       50,724 km         2,870,658,186 km
Neptune     49,244 km     4,498,396,441 km

Pluto, Eris, Makemake, Haumea, Sedna are dwarf planets.


Here is an infographic that I made showing size of planets compared to the Sun and the composition:


Here is a photo of Mercury:

In transit:



Venus is made of hot gas and look like this:



The Earth is the 3rd rock in orbit around the Sun:

Sunrise image:



Mars, aka the red planet:



Image of Jupiter:

Callisto moon:






Uranus is the 7th:



Neptune is the 8th:


Pluto is the 9th: